Can't connect right now! retry

Tuesday Apr 09 2019
Web Desk

Imran Rasul, who resigned from EAC, awarded 2019 Yrjö Jahnsson prize

Web Desk
London-based economist had stepped down from EAC following the exclusion of Dr Atif R Mian. Photo: File

London-based economist Dr Imran Rasul, who had stepped down from  the government's Economic Advisory Council (EAC) following the exclusion of US-based academic Dr Atif R Mian, was awarded the prestigious award Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics 2019.

Rasul was jointly awarded the honour with Oriana Bandiera. They both also received €20 000 in addition to the award.

The European Economic Association is delighted to announce that 2019 Award Selection Committee has decided to jointly award Oriana Bandiera and Department of Economics, LSE, and Imran Rasul, University College London and the Institute for Fiscal Studies, with this prize for 2019, the statement read.

In 1993 the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation established a biennial award, called the Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics, for a European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. 

Rasul, a microeconomist from University College London and the Institute Fiscal Studies, has worked towards social relationships in economics, advanced through pioneering field experiments in the workplace and social networks and has provided salient contributions to economics, especially to the fields of personnel economics and development.

Last week, Asim Ijaz Khawaja, who had also stepped down from the EAC, was appointed as the faculty director of the prestigious Harvard Kennedy School’s Center for International Development (CID).

Notification Management

Tv Shows

Subscribe to desktop notification
Powered by IMM