T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka thump Netherlands as both teams fail to proceed in tournament

Islanders secure 83-run victory by bowling out the Dutch side at 118 runs while chasing their 202-run target

Web Desk
June 17, 2024
Sri Lankan players celebrate during their T20 World Cup 2024 match against the Netherlands at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia on June 17, 2024. — ICC

Sri Lanka sailed past the Netherlands on Monday in their group D match of the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024 in the match being played at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, Saint Lucia in West Indies.

The Dutch side, while chasing the Islanders' 202-run target, were bowled out at 118 runs in the 17th over with Nuwan Thusharaclaiming three wickets, whereas Wanindu Hasaranga andMatheesha Pathirana bagging two wickets each.

The result, however, does not change both team's fate as neither side will not be proceeding into the Super 8 stage of the tournament.

The Dutch had an outside chance at the start of their match but a win for Bangladesh on the same day ended their hopes of making it to the next round.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka posted 201-6 in 20 overs with the help of knocks of 46 each by Kusal Mendis and Charith Asalanka.

Meanwhile,Angelo Mathews played a brisk innings of 30 runs in 15 balls.

"These are far better conditions than the USA, and we enjoyed those conditions. It can be tough to come in at number five. We just played the conditions. I know I have to be a little more consistent. In general we are a little disappointed about the results in the first two games. But in the end we had a good game here," Player of the Match Asalanka said.

Playing XIs

Sri Lanaka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Kamindu Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga(c), Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana

Netherlands:Michael Levitt, Max ODowd, Vikramjit Singh, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Scott Edwards(w/c), Bas de Leede, Logan van Beek, Tim Pringle, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma