[post_id] => 132703
    [title] => YDA strike in Punjab takes a new turn
    [slug] => YDA-strike-in-Punjab-takes-a-new-turn
    [excerpt] => CCTV footage reveals a new side to the saga
    [description] => 

LAHORE: The alleged case of torture on Young Doctors Association (YDA) leader Dr Muhammad Atif Majeed took a new turn Tuesday.

Dr Atif had alleged that he lost his sight after anti-corruption officers tortured him on February 16. “Fellow doctors rushed me to the emergency ward after the incident,” he said.

The closed-circuit television (CCTV) footage received on February 18 showed Dr Atif running away after anti-corruption officers were attacked by members of the YDA.

The token strike at the out-patient department of the Services Hospital Lahore continues on the second day of the 48-hour ultimatum.  

On Monday, the association threatened to continue its province-wide strike in government hospitals upon the authorities’ failure to meet its demands.

YDA has been protesting a raid by a team of anti-corruption officials, who visited Services Hospital to arrest Dr Atif and Dr Salman. According to Anti Corruption Establishment Punjab, the two doctors are wanted for corruption allegations.


[post_datetime] => 2017-02-28 10:21:00 [image_name] => 132703_103919_updates.jpg [post_sequence] => 1 [show_video_icon] => 1 [show_live_icon] => 0 [show_fb_live_icon] => 0 [video_embed_code] => 0 [show_fb_liveonhome] => 0 [site_id] => [video] => 1 [livevideo] => 0 [FBlivevideo] => 0 [videoEmbed] => 0 [show_fb_live] => 0 )

Must Watch Videos

  • Clean drinking water is not available in Sindh: Hassan Nisar
  • This is last episode of remnants of Bhutto and Zia: Hassan Nisar
  • Militancy gained ground in religious parties due to want for power and resources: Amir Rana
  • No direct link between Madressahs and terrorism: Mujahid Hussain