Can't connect right now! retry

Wahab Riaz inducted in list of players to receive Rs10mn prize from PM

Faizan Lakhani
Wahab Riaz in action. Photo courtesy: ICC

KARACHI: Name of fast bowler Wahab Riaz has been included in the list of cricketers who will receive Rs10 million each from the Prime Minister for winning the Champions Trophy 2017.

A fresh notification was issued from the PM Office on Friday which has also revised the prize money offered to the non-coaching staff of the team management.

"Wahab's name was missing from the initial notification and on PCB's recommendation his name was included in the list of players who will receive Rs10 million each," said an official.

"Total number of players who would receive the prize money is now 16," he added.

The non-coaching staff of team management have also got their prize money revised from five million each to Rs2.5 million each.

While the coaching staff will receive Rs5 million prize money from the PM.

Team manager Talat Ali, media manager Raza Rashid Kitchlew, social media manager Aun Zaidi, tour operator in-charge Shahid Aslam, security officer Azhar Arif, analyst Talha Ejaz, masseur Donald Albert and physiotherapist Shane Hayes will receive Rs2.5 million each for their contributions.

Head coach Mickey Arthur, bowling coach Azhar Mahmood, fielding coach John Rixon, batting coach Grant Flower and fitness trainer Grant Ludon will receive Rs5 million each from the PM.

The revised list of players who will receive ten million each include Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hassan Ali, Ahmed Shahzad, Haris Sohail, Ruman Rais, Wahab Riaz and Faheem Ashraf.

A special ceremony will be held at PM house on 5th July where Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif will distribute cheques among players and management staff.