Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Web Desk

Election Bill 2017 approved by electoral reforms committee

Bill is expected to be signed on Friday

Web Desk
 Federal Minister for Finance Senator Mohammad Ishaq Dar talking to the media after the meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms - APP

ISLAMABAD: A bill for electoral reforms in the country has been approved by the parliamentary committee on election reforms and will be signed on Friday.

The committee on electoral reforms is chaired by Finance Minister Ishaq Dar.

In a press conference along with other committee members, Dar said that the committee members, comprising representatives of political parties, approved the Election Bill 2017.

Dar said the parliamentary committee conducted as many as 90 sessions, and added that the bill was drafted after taking advice from the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and recommendations from political parties.

Minister For Law and Justice And Chairman Sub-Committee on Electoral Reforms, Zahid Hamid presenting the Final Report of the Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms to the Chairman of the Committee Senator Mohammad Ishaq Dar - APP

Speaking on the occasion, Qaumi Watan Party Chairman Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao said that all political parties want better electoral laws and transparent elections in the country.

Sahibzada Tariq, Jamat-e-Islami's representative in the committee, said his party expressed reservations over the 10 per cent women vote clause, further adding that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf expressed concerns over the electronic voting machines and right of vote for overseas Pakistanis.

Meanwhile, PTI leaders staged a walkout from the committee proceedings.

PTI leader Shireen Mazari said that the walkout was staged as the government did not respond to the party`s demands.

“We will announce our next course of action after the party`s consultative session at party chief`s residence at Bani Gala,” she said.