Friday Aug 25 2017

PCB announces 16-member squad for World XI series


LAHORE: The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq selected a 16-member squad for the upcoming Independence Cup against World XI on Friday.  

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in the domestic and international tours," said the chief selector. 

Inzamam added that the team is a combination of young and senior players. 

Fahim Ashraf, Rumman Raees and Aamir Yamin have made a place in the squad due to their splendid performance in domestic tournaments, said Inzamam, adding that Sohail Khan will be making a comeback. 

"It would be good for the young players to get a chance to play on the home ground and perform in front of the local public”, added the chief selector. 

The three-match T20I series would commence from September 12, with the remaining two matches scheduled to take place on September 13 and September 15, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Team Pakistan

1.        Sarfraz Ahmed (captain) (wicket-keeper)                          

2.        Fakhar Zaman

3.        Ahmed Shehzad

4.        Babar Azam

5.        Shoaib Malik

6.        Umer Amin

7.        Imad Wasim

8.        Shadab Khan

9.        Muhammad Nawaz

10.      Faheem Ashraf

11.      Hassan Ali

12.      Amir Yamin

13.      Muhammad Amir

14.      Ruman Raees

15.      Usman Shinwari

16.      Sohail Khan