World Cup 2019: South Africa look to bounce back against Bangladesh

Aliha Ejaz

LONDON: South Africa take on Bangladesh in their second match of the World Cup at The Oval, in London today. 

South Africa who were handed a stunning 104 run defeat at the hands of World Cup host and favourites England on Thursday, will be looking to bounce back against the Bengal Tigers. 

The Proteas will be determined to sort out their mistakes especially their batting order which has suffered in recent times. But it will be interesting to see them take some serious calls for the team after the loss at the same ground three days ago. 

Bangladesh are ranked seventh in the ICC ODI ranking. Photo: File

On the other hand, Bangladesh might not be on anyone's list as a favourite for the World Cup or to make it to the semi-finals of this year's tournament, but almost everyone agrees the Bengal Tigers have the firepower to pull off a few upsets after they defeated Windies three times in a single series during a recent ODI tournament.

The match between Bangladesh and South Africa will begin at 2:30pm Pakistan Standard Time.

Weather conditions at The Oval:

The weather in London today is expected to be cloudy with very low chances of rain. 

South Africa vs Bangladesh ODI Stats:

Head to head matches: 20

South Africa won: 17

Bangladesh won: 3

Tied: 0

Highest total: 369/6 by South Africa in 2017

Lowest total: 78 by Afghanistan in 2011

Most wickets: M Ntini (SA) 18 wickets

Most runs: Q De Kock (SA) 287 runs in 3 matches

Bangladesh’s squad for World Cup 2019: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sabbir Rahman, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi and Mosaddek Hossain

South Africa’s squad for World Cup 2019: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, JP Duminy, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir