ICC World Cup 2019: Bangladesh vs New Zealand match preview

Aliha Ejaz

LONDON: The ninth match of the ICC World Cup 2019 will be played today between New Zealand and Bangladesh at The Oval, London.

The two teams are coming off an exceptionally good performance in their last respective matches and it's expected to be a terrific showdown.

Bengali tigers were being considered weak but after their performance in the first week of the tournament, no team will be taking them lightly in the upcoming matches.

Bangladesh´s players celebrate after victory over South Africa by 21 runs after the 2019 Cricket World Cup group stage match between South Africa and Bangladesh at The Oval in London on June 2, 2019. Photo: AFP  

In recent times, they have outplayed most of the teams. However, they are one of the fourth best teams in terms of win or loss ratio.

On the other hand, the Kiwis have a strong batting lineup to complement their versatile bowling attack.

New Zealand's Matt Henry celebrates with teammates after the dismissal of a batsman during the ICC World Cup 2019. Photo: AFP 

They have a terrific batting lineup with all of their top-five batsmen being amongst the runs in their last three matches

New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI Stats:

Head to head matches: 34

New Zealand won: 24

Bangladesh won: 10

Tied: 0

Highest total: 330/6 by New Zealand in 2019

Lowest total: 77 by Bangladesh in 2002

Most wickets: Shakib al Hasan(BDESH) 35 wickets

Most runs: MJ Guptill(NZ) 264 runs in 3 matches

Bangladesh’s squad for World Cup 2019: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sabbir Rahman, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi and Mosaddek Hossain

New Zealand’s squad for World Cup 2019: Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor