time Sunday Jul 21 2019
Web Desk

Historic KP-FATA elections: 6 Independents, 5 PTI, 3 JUI candidates win

Web Desk

PESHAWAR: In the historic, first-ever elections for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) provincial assembly from the merged tribal areas, Independent candidates bagged six seats, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) bagged five, and the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) three seats, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said Sunday.

The polling time in the erstwhile Federal Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) concluded on Saturday at 5PM.

According to the ECP's results, Jamat-e-Islami gained one seat and the JUI-F clinched three seats. The results stated that the Awami National Party (ANP) also won a seat.

Polling had begun in the 16 districts early Saturday.

Security forces were deployed inside and outside 554 highly sensitive polling stations. According to the provincial election commissioner, results in the tribal districts would be given on WhatsApp due to a network issue in the area.

There were a total of 1,897 polling stations set up for the election. 282 candidates were vying for the 16 general seats, including nominees for the ruling Pakistani Tehreek-e-Insaf, JUI-F, Awami National Party, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Jamaat-e-Islami, Pakistan Peoples Party and Independents.

Two women contested the provincial election in the tribal areas of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province.

Naheed Afridi from the Awami National Party (ANP) aspired for a win in the conservative Khyber district’s constituency of PK 106. There were a total of 148,470 voters in this constituency, of which 65,652 (44 per cent) are female.

The other woman was Malasa Bibi, who was fielded by the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) for PK 109 in the Kurram district. In her constituency, there were 187,844 voters in all, of which 82,560 were women.

Unverified, unofficial results

PK-100 (Bajaur-1)

5/104 polling stations

Waheed Gul (Jamat-e-Islami) - 1,037

Gul Afzal (Awami National Party) - 538

PK-103 (Mohmand-1)

10/86 polling stations

Nisar Ahmed (Awami National Party) - 1,741

Rahim Shah (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 1,236

PK-104 (Mohamand-2)

2/108 polling stations

Muhammad Arif (Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl) - 496

Sajjad Khan (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 326

PK-108 (Kurram -1)

29/135 polling stations

Muhammad Riaz (Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl) - 2,291

Jameel Khan (Independent) - 1,596

Pk-109 (Kurram-2)

24/130 polling stations

Syed Iqbal Mian (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 9,229

Inayat Hussain (Independent) - 3,944

PK-110 (Orakzai)

4/175 polling stations

Shoaib Hasan (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 261

Syed Ghazi Ghazan (Independent) - 115

PK-111 (North Waziristan-1)

11/76 polling stations

Samiud Din (Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl) - 1,154

Muhammad Iqbal Khan (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 1,165

PK-112 (North Waziristan-2)

17/102 polling stations

Mir Kalam Khan (Independent) - 2,748 

Siddiqullah (Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl) - 1,544

PK-115 (Former Frontier Regions)

30/163 polling stations

Abid ur Rehman (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) - 4,738

Muhammad Shoaib (Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazl) -4,431