Can't connect right now! retry
Friday Nov 29 2019
Web Desk

Tracker: Firings and resignations since August 2018

Web Desk lists down all the high-level people who have been pushed out and those who walked out on their own:

16 firings

• Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar moved from the ministry of planning to the ministry of food security

• Aamer Mehmood Kiani removed as the minister for health

• Ghulam Sarwar Khan sacked as the petroleum minister but appointed the federal minister for aviation later

• Shehryar Afridi removed as the minister of state for interior

• Fawad Chaudhry’s portfolio of information ministry was taken away. But he was named the federal minister for science and technology

• Fayyaz ul Hassan Chohan, the Punjab information and culture minister, was sent packing but later brought back into the provincial cabinet

• Inspector General of Police (IGP), Punjab, Mohammad Tahir sent home. Later, Amjad Javed Saleemi and Captain (retd) Arif Nawaz Khan are also removed as the IGP

• Islamabad’s Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Jan Muhammad removed

• Atif Mian, an economist, was asked to step down from the Economic Advisory Council (EAC)

• Amjad Lateef, Managing Director Sui Northern Gas Pipeline Limited (SNGPL) and Amin Rajput, the Managing Director Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGC) are sacked

• Engineer M. A. Jabba, Chairman Pakistan Steel Mills sent home

• Arshad Khan, Managing Director Pakistan Television (PTV) removed

• Awn Chaudhry, who was the chief minister Punjab’s adviser, is removed

13 resignations

• Asad Umar removed as the federal minister for finance, later appointed the minister for planning

• Farogh Naseem resigned as law minister to represent the army chief

• Azam Swati resigned as the federal minister for science. However, he was inducted back into the cabinet as the minister for parliamentary affairs

• Yousaf Baig Mirza resigns as the special assistant to the prime minister

• Nasir Khan Durrani resigned as chairman of the Commission on Police Reforms and Implementation in Punjab.

• Aleem Khan, Minister Punjab, Minister of Local Government & Community

• Shahbaz Gill, the chief minister Punjab’s spokesperson, tenders his resignation

• Babar Awan resigned as adviser to the prime minister on parliamentary affairs

• Najam Sethi steps down as chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)

• Babar Bin Atta, the prime minister’s focal person on polio resigns citing personal reasons

• Sahibzada Amir Jahangir, appointed by the Prime Minister as his special assistant on foreign investment, refused to take charge. He was, however, given a position later on.

• Dr Imran Rasul and Asim Ijaz Khawaja resign from the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) after Atif Mian’s removal

• Mir Ghazanfar Ali Khan, the governor of Gilgit-Baltistan, submits his resignation to the president