Can't connect right now! retry
Wednesday Apr 14 2021
Web Desk

Pak vs SA: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan help Pakistan thrash South Africa in 3rd T20I

Web Desk
Pakistan´s captain Babar Azam (R) celebrates after scoring a century (100 runs) as Pakistan´s Mohammad Rizwan (L) looks on during the third Twenty20 international cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at SuperSport Park in Centurion on April 14, 2021. — AFP

Pakistan captain Babar Azam and batsman Mohammad Rizwan sailed the Men In Green to victory against South Africa in the third fixture of the four-match T20I series at Supersport Park in Centurion.

Although South Africa set a massive 204-run target, Pakistan easily chased it with nine wickets to spare. The Men in Green lead the T20I series 2-1 at the moment.

Babar Azam hit 122 runs, comprising a whopping 15 fours and four sixes, while Mohammad Rizwan scored an unbeaten 73 runs, with five fours and two sixes.

The Pakistani skipper proved to the world why he is the best batsman after he toppled Indian captain Virat Kohli to become the top-ranked ODI batsman in the world.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan put on 197, the fourth-highest T20I partnership overall, and the highest ever in a chase, according to ESPN.

Fakhar Zaman, who came to bat after Azam was sent back to the pavilion, hit two fours to end the match.

Earlier, South Africa's top-order batsmen — Janneman Malan and Aiden Markram — gave a tough time to the Pakistani bowlers, as they hit a combined score of 118 runs.

Malan hit 55 runs off 40 balls, while Markram was able to score 63 off 31 balls, which helped the Proteas achieve the 200+ target. George Linde and Rassie van der Dussen hit 22 and 34 runs, respectively.

Hassan Ali conceded most runs, 47, from Pakistan's bowling side; however, he took a wicket for the team. Meanwhile, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Faheem Ashraf also picked up a wicket each.

Mohammad Nawaz took two wickets and conceded 38 runs.

The action for the last two T20Is has moved to Supersport Park in Centurion after the first two games of the series were played at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

Both sides are using the series as preparation for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup that will be played in India later this year.

In the last game, South Africa beat Pakistan by six wickets after comprehensively chasing the 140-run target set by Pakistan.

South Africa's Aiden Markram hit 54 runs off 30 balls, skipper Heinrich Klaasen scored 36, and George Linde scored 20 runs, helping the Proteas level the series 1-1.

Pakistani bowlers were hapless against South Africa batters as they managed to pick up just four wickets. Usman Qadir managed a pair of wickets while Hassan Ali and Mohammad Hasnain took a wicket each.

Pakistan reached a measly 140 for 9, courtesy Babar Azam's 50 off 50 balls and Mohammad Hafeez's 32 off 23. However, the rest of the batting lineup failed to produce many runs.

George Linde did the big damage in the Powerplay before Lizaad Williams, Sisanda Magala, and Tabraiz Shamsi joined in later on.


South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wicketkeeper), Daryn Dupavillon, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Wihan Lubbe, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Migael Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood