Friday Mar 02, 2012

PPP dominates Senate elections

LAHORE/KARACHI: The announcement of unofficial results of Senate elections, being held here on Friday, has completed.

Lawmakers cast their votes for candidates contesting in the Senate elections. Polling was held on 45 Senate seats, while 9 senators were elected unopposed.

The results are as follows:


PPP candidate Hari Ram Kishori Lal was elected to the minorities seat, while Sehar Kamran (PPP) and Nasreen Jalil (MQM) were elected on the women seats.

Those elected to the general seats include MQM leaders Tahir Mashadi, Mustafa Kamal and Raza Rabani, Saeed Ghani, Ajiz Dharma and Dr. Karim Khawaja from the PPP.

Muzzafar Hussain Shah from the PML-F was also elected.

Abdul Hazfeez Sheikh (PPP) and Faroog Naseem (MQM) had been elected unopposed to the technocrat seats in Sindh.


PML-N leaders Sardar Zulfiqar Khosa, Rafique Ranjwa, Zafarullah Dhandla and M Hamza were elected to the general seats.

PPP leader Babar Awan and independent candidate Mohsin Leghari were also successful.

From PML-Q, Kamil Ali Agha was elected.

Those elected unopposed include Nurdat Sadiq (PML-N), Khalida Parveen (PPP) on the women seats, while Kamran Michael (PML-N) was elected on the minorities seat.

Aitzaz Ahsan and Khalid Mohsin Qureshi from the PPP and Ishaq Dar (PML-N) were elected unopposed to the technocrat seats.


Mushahid Hussain (PML-Q) was elected unopposed to the technocrat seat, while Usman Saifullah (PPP) was elected to the general seat.


Those elected to the general senate seats in Balochistan include Mir Israrullah Zehri (BNP-Awami), Nawabzada Saifullah Magsi, Muhammad Yousuf Baloch and Sardar Fateh Muhammad Hasni from the PPP.

Syed Ul Hassan Mandokhel from the PML-Q and Hamdullah Saboor and Mufti Abdul Sattar Shahwani from JUI-F were also elected.

ANP candidate Advocate Dawood Khan Achakzai and Rozi Khan Kakar from the PPP was also successful.

Naseema Ehsan from the BNP-Awami and Rubina Irfan from the PML-Q have also been successful on the women's seat from Balochistan.

The minorities seat was won by Heman Kumar (JUI-F).


Hidayatullah, Najamul Hassan, Saleh Shah and Hilalur Rehman were elected as senators from FATA.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Rubina Khalid (PPP) and Zahida Khan (ANP) have been elected to the women seats while Amirjeet Malhotra (ANP) has been elected to the minorities seat.

Ilyas Bilour (ANP) and Farhatullah Babar (PPP) have been elected to the technocrat seats.

Shahi Syed, Baz Muhammad Khan and Azam Hoti from the ANP have been elected to the general seats while Talha Muhammad from the JUI-F was also elected.

Saifullah Bangash and Ahmed Hasan Khan from the PPP were also elected to the general seat.

Nisar Muhammad Khan (PML-N) also won a senate seat from the province.