Monday, April 18, 2022
Web Desk

PTI's Sardar Tanveer elected AJK's new prime minister

Prime Minister-elect Sardar Tanveer Ilyas likely to take oath later today

Web Desk
PTIs Sardar Tanveer Ilyas. — APP/File
PTI's Sardar Tanveer Ilyas. — APP/File 

  • PTI member wins amid united opposition's boycott of election for PM's seat.
  • PM's seat was vacant since April 14 after Abdul Qayyum Niazi tendered his resignation.
  • Prime Minister-elect Sardar Tanveer Ilyas is likely to take oath today.

PTI's Sardar Tanveer Ilyas has been elected unopposed as the prime minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) after the united opposition of AJK, including the PML-N and PPP boycotted the election for the PM's seat.  

The seat of the prime minister was vacant since April 14 after Abdul Qayyum Niazi tendered his resignation following the PTI members' submission of a no-confidence motion against him. 

President Barrister Sultan Mahmood convened the Legislative Assembly session at 10:30am on Monday (today) to conduct the election for the new Leader of the House.

As per the party position, PTI has 32, PPP 12, PML-N 7, JKPP and Muslim Conference have one seat each. PTI Chairman Imran Khan had nominated Sardar Tanveer Ilyas for the PM's post.

Confirming his victory, the AJK Legislative Assembly secretary said that no one had filed nomination papers against Tanveer Ilyas for the PM’s slot.

Prime Minister-elect Sardar Tanveer Ilyas is likely to take the oath of his office today.