Can't connect right now! retry

Friday Aug 23, 2013

By-polls: PML-N wins five NA seats, PPP three, PTI two

ISLAMABAD: The ruling PML-N has clinched 5 National Assembly seats, PPP 3, PTI 2, Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakhtunkhwa Mili Awami Party (PKMAP) have secured one seat each.

ANP’s Ghulam Ahmed Bilour and PTI’s Asad Umer have won NA seats from Peshawar and Islamabad respectively.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has called for re-polling on 18 stations of NA-5 (Nowshera) and NA-27 (Lakki Marwat) following directives by Chief Justice of the Peshawar High Court to halt results on these constituencies after women were not allowed to vote.

By and large, the by-elections were conducted in a peaceful and smooth manner. At the eleventh hour, polling was postponed in Tank, due to security reasons.


The PTI lost on both seats vacated by Imran Khan after the May 11 general elections.

In NA-1 Peshawar the PTI candidate Gul Badshah lost to Ghulam Ahmad Bilour of the Awami National Party, while in NA-71 Mianwali, the PTI’s Malik Wahid lost to the PML-N’s Obaidullah Shadikhel.

ANP supporters celebrated Bilour's victory with fireworks and traditional aerial shooting.

However, in a keenly contested fight in NA-48 Islamabad, the PTI candidate Asad Umar defeated PML-N’s Ashraf Gujjar. In another important contest in PP-247 Rajanpur, the PML-N lost the seat vacated by Chief Minister Mian Shahbaz Sharif to the PTI.

In Sindh, the Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPP) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) won the vacated seats.

The ruling PML-N secured five, PPP three, PTI two, while the MQM, PkMAP and ANP bagged one seat each in the National Assembly, according to unofficial results, with the turn-out remaining low compared to the May 11 polls.

As per the unofficial results, the PPP’s Shazia Marri, who made her way to the NA on a reserved seat after the general elections, defeated PML-F’s Khuda Bakhsh Dars in NA-235 (Sanghar/Umerkot).

In NA-177 Muzaffargarh-II, Jamshed Khan Dasti's brother Muhammad Javed Khan Dasti (60,115 votes) lost to Ghullam Noor Rabbani Khar (PPP) (69,246 votes) by 9,000 votes. Jamshed Dasti pinned the defeat on a rift within his group.

"At least 20,000 of sure votes went to Iqbal Patafi, a former group member, which led to my brother's defeat", said he talking to the media.

Unofficial results of By-elections 2013

NA-1 Peshawar-I: Winner: Ghulam Ahem Bilour (ANP), Runner-up: Gul Badashah (PTI)

NA-5 Nowshera-I: Result pending as ECP orders re-polling on nine polling stations

NA-13 Swabi-II: Winner: Aqibullah Khan (PTI), Runner-up: Mulana Atta-ul-Haq (JUI-F)

NA-27 Lakki Marwat: Result pending as ECP orders re-polling on nine polling stations

NA-48 Islamabad-I: Winner: Asad Umer (PTI), Runner-up: Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf (PML-N)

NA-68 Sargodha-V: Winner: Muhammad Shafqat Hayat Khan (PML-N), Runner-up: Javed Hasnain Shah (Independent)

NA-71 Mianwali-I: Winner: Obaidullah Shadikhel (PML-N), Runner-up: Malik Waheed Khan (PTI)

NA-83 Faisalabad-IX: Winner: Mian Abdulmanan (PML-N), Runner-up: Faizullah Kamoka (PTI)

NA-103 Hafizabad-II: Winner: Shahid Hussain Bhatti (PML-N), Runner-up: Shaukat Ali Bhatti (PTI)

NA-129 Lahore-XII: Winner: Shazia Mubashir (PML-N), Runner-up: Muhammad Mansha Sindhu (PTI)

NA-177 Muzaffargarh-II: Winner: Ghullam Noor Rabbani Khar (PPP), Runner-up: Muhammad Javed Khan Dasti ((Independent)

NA-178 Muzaffargarh-III: Winner: Hamad Nawaz Khan (PML-N), Runner-up: Abdul Hai Dasti (PTI)

NA-235 Sanghar-II: Winner: Shazia Marri (PPP), Runner-up: Khudabaksh Dars (PML-N)

NA-237 Thatta: Winner: Shamsunnisa Memon (PPP), Runner-up: Syed Riaz Shah (PML-N)

NA-254 Karachi-XVI: Winner: Ali Rashid (MQM), Runner-up: Muhammad Naeem (PTI)

NA-262 Killa Abdullah: Winner: Abdul Kahar (PKMAP), Runner-up: Qari Muhammad Sher Ali (JUI-F)

Punjab Assembly

PP-6 (Rawalpindi-VI): Winner: Chaudhary Sarfraz Afzal (PML-N), Runner-up: Wasiq Qayum Abbassi (PTI)

PP-51 (Faisalabad-I): Winner: Azad Ali (PML-N), Runner-up: Muhammad Ajmal Cheema (PTI)

PP-118 MB Din-III: Winner: Akhtar Abbas Bosal (PML-N), Runner-up: Liaqat Ali Ranjha (PTI)

PP-123 Sialkot-III: Winner: Khawaja Muhammad Mansha (PML-N), Runner-up: Muhammad Dawood Khan (PTI)

PP-142 (Lahore-VI): Winner: Khawaja Salman Rafiq (PML-N), Runner-up: Waqar Ahmed (PTI)

PP-150 Lahore-XIV: Winner: Mian Marghoob Ahmed (PML-N), Runner-up: Mehr Wajid Azeem (PTI)

PP-161 Lahore-XXV: Winner: Ch.Gulzar Ahmed Gujjar (PML-N), Runner-up: Ch.Khalid Mehmood Gujjar (PTI)

PP-193 (Oakara-IX): Winner: Khurram Jehngir Wattoo (PPP), Runner-up: Noor-ul Amin Watoo (PML-N)

PP-210 Lodhran-IV: Winner: M.Zubair Khan (PML-N), Runner-up: Syed Khursheed Khan (PTI)

PP-217 Khanewal-VI: Winner: Rana Babar (PML-N), Runner-up: Maqsood Alam (PTI)

PP-243 DG Khan-IV: Winner: Ali Khan (PTI), Runner-up: Sardar Ashsamuddin (PML-N)

PP-247 Rajanpur-I: Winner: Ali Raza Daraishak (PTI), Runner-up: Abdul Qadir Khan (PML-N). This seat was vacated by Mian Shahbaz Shairf.

PP-254 Muzaffargarh-IV: Winner: Hamid Nawaz (PML-N), Runner-up: Irshad Ahmed Khan (PPP)

PP-289 Rahim Yar Khan -V: Winner: Raees Mahmood (PML-N), Runner-up: Mian Muhammad Aslam Advocate

PP-292 Rahim Yar Khan-VIII: Winner: Makhdoom Syed Ali Akbar (PPP), Runner-up: Maulvi Tariq Chohan (PML-N)

Sindh Assembly

PS-12 Shikarpur-II: Winner: Abid Hussain (PPP), Runner-up: Amir Ali Jatoi (Independent)

PS-64 Mirpurkhas-I: Winner: Dr. Zafar Kamali (MQM), Runner-up: Abdul Syed Qureshi (PPP)

PS-95 Karachi-VII: Winner: Muhammad Hussain Khan (MQM), Runner-up: Muhammad Jameel Zia (PPP)

PS-103 Karachi-XV: Winner: Muhammad Abdul Raud Siddiqui (MQM), Runner-up: Sultan Ahmed (PTI)

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly

PK-23 Mardan-I: Winner: Ahmed Khan (ANP), Runner-up: Syed Umer Farooq (PTI)

PK-27 Mardan-V: Jamshed Khan (Independent), Runner-up: Fazl Rabbani Advocate (JI)

PK-42 Hangu-I: Winner: Shah Faisal Khan (Independent), Runner-up: Syed Hasni (Independent)

PK-70 Bannu-I: Winner: Azam Khan Durrani (JUI-F), Runner-up: Malik Adnan Khan (PTI)

Balochistan Assembly

PB-29 Nasirabad-II: Winner: Muhammad Khan Lehri (PML-N), Runner-up: Muhammad Amin Umrani (Independent).

PB-32 Kachhi-III: Winner: Nawabzad Tariq Magsi (Independent), Runner-up: Ghani Baksh Lashari (PML-N)

PB-44 Lasbela-I: Winner: Prince Ahmed Ali (PML-N), Runner-up: Nasrullah Draishak (PPP)