Tuesday Nov 05, 2013

Korangi made sixth district of Karachi

KARACHI: The government has carved out a new district in Karachi Division increasing the numbers of districts in the city to six.

The newly made Korangi district comprises Korangi, Shah Faisal Colony, Landhi, and Model Colony areas. Previously, Korangi was a part of district East.

According to a notification issued by Revenue Department, the government of Sindh has created this new district Korangi Karachi in Karachi Division and also delimited the existing districts which are: South, Karachi East, Karachi Malir and Karachi West of Karachi Division.

The Government of Sindh has further created new sub-divisions and talukas and re-demarcated the existing sub-divisions and talukas of above districts of Karachi Division --including newly created Korangi district.

It must be noted that District South Karachi comprises seven sub-divisions including Saddar, Arambagh, Civil Lines, Garden, Lyari, Harbour, and Mauripur.

District Korangi constitutes four sub-divisions namely Model Colony, Shah Faisal, Korangi, and Landhi.

District East Karachi makes up four sub-divisions namely Ferozabad, Jamshed Quarters, Gulshan-e-Iqbal, and Gulzar-e-Hijri (Scheme-33).

District Malir Karachi consists of six sub-divisions namely Bin Qasim, Ibrahim Hydri, Shah Mureed, Gaddap, Airport, and Murad Memon.

District West Karachi includes five sub-divisions namely Orangi, Mominabad, SITE, Baldia, and Manghopir.

District Central Karachi has five sub-divisions namely Liaquatabad, Gulberg, Nazimabad, North Nazimabad, and New Karachi. (PPI)