Can't connect right now! retry

Monday Mar 20, 2017

PSL investigation: Suspended players’ names placed on ECL

ISLAMABAD: Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar on Monday ordered that the names of the five players, suspended for alleged involvement in spot-fixing during Pakistan Super League 2017, be placed on the Exit Control List.

In a meeting held earlier today, the Interior Minister approved the Federal Investigation Agency’s (FIA) request that the names of Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hasan and Nasir Jamshed be included on the ECL.

The FIA, which is conducting investigation into the PSL spot-fixing case, had written a letter to Chaudhry Nisar over the weekend stating that these five players are wanted in the investigation and hence their names should be put on the list.

Cricketers Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan and Shahzaib Hasan have been provisionally suspended from all forms of cricket for violating the Pakistan Cricket Board's anti-corruption code. Sharjeel and Latif, who were suspended during the opening week of the PSL for suspected links with an international fixing syndicate, face a minimum five years’ ban.

Batsman Shahzaib, who was charged and suspended on Friday, also faces a minimum five years' ban. Fast bowler Mohammad Irfan faces a minimum six months' ban.

Nasir Jamshed, who resides in the UK, was suspended during PSL after the PCB said it had 'concrete evidence' against the former opener. He was also arrested along with another suspect by Britain's National Crime Agency last month as part of investigations but later released on bail, according to reports.

Notification Management

Tv Shows

Subscribe to desktop notification
Powered by IMM