Can't connect right now! retry
Sunday Aug 01 2021
Web Desk

Kashmir election: PTI bags three reserved seats, secures total of 29 in AJK Legislative Assembly

Web Desk
Prime Minister Imran Khan gestures during a rally in Azad Jammu and Kashmirs Tarar Khal, on July 23, 2021. — PID/File
Prime Minister Imran Khan gestures during a rally in Azad Jammu and Kashmir's Tarar Khal, on July 23, 2021. — PID/File

  • PTI secures three reserved seats for women out of five.
  • PPP and PML-N secure one each.
  • All five candidates win unopposed.

MUZAFFARABAD: The PTI has extended its lead in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly after winning three women's reserved seats, while PPP and PML-N were able to bag one each, the region's election commission announced Sunday.

All five candidates won unopposed.

From PTI Imtiaz Naseem, Sabeha Sadique, Kausar Taqdees Gilani emerged victorious, while from PPP Nabila Ayub and from PML-N Nasaran Abbasi were the winning candidates.

A total of 10 candidates had submitted their nomination papers for the reserved seats, however, five of them withdrew their names later.

Polling on three other reserved seats — one each for technocrats, ulema-o-mashaikh, and overseas Kashmiris — will be conducted on Monday as more than one candidate is contesting each category.

Following the latest results, PTI has 29 seats in the AJKLA, PPP has 12, and PML-N seven.

On July 29, PTI won the LA-16 Bagh 3 seat of the AJKLA, whose results were withheld for re-polling on four polling stations, after clashes brought polling to a halt on July 25.

According to unofficial results, PTI candidate Sardar Mir Akbar bagged 23,561 votes, whereas PPP's Sardar Qamaruz Zaman obtained 23,267 votes — a difference of a mere 294 votes.

Of the total 939 votes cast by government employees, PTI received 396, whereas PPP got 421.

In the polls on July 25, PTI emerged as the largest winner with 25 seats, PPP came in second place with 11, while PML-N won six seats.