Friday Nov 09, 2018
Facebook Messenger will soon be rolling out its much-awaited “unsend” feature, enabling users to delete their sent messages.
The new feature will come as a part of an upcoming update to the popular messaging app, though Facebook Messenger has said that it can only be used within 10 minutes of sending the message.
"Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it's been sent," Facebook Messenger announced in the release notes for Version 191.0 of the iOS app.
"If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it."
The “unsend” button will appear when a user selects a message. It will show up above the “Delete Message” option. Currently, Facebook Messenger users can only delete messages from their inbox and the recipient can still see the message in his/her inbox.
Instagram and WhatsApp, both of which are owned by Facebook, already include the option to delete messages after sending them, which makes them disappear for both sender and recipient.