Can't connect right now! retry
Friday Feb 07 2020
Web Desk

Bangladesh conclude first day with paltry 233

Web Desk

Bangladesh on Friday concluded the first Test with a paltry 233, as fast bowler Shaheen Afridi struck thrice in Rawalpindi. 

The teen bowler finished with figures of 4-53 in 21.5 overs and which was followed by Mohammad Abbas’ 2-19 and Haris Sohail’s 2-11.

The hosts were to bat for five overs but umpires called it a day following poor lighting conditions.

The Tigers would have been well under 200 had it not been the defiant effort of Mohamad Mithun, who’s top-score of 63 runs helped Bangladesh avoid an early conclusion.

Bangladesh were at 161-6 when the top-scorer added 53 runs for the seventh wicket with Taijul Islam who made a mere score of 24.

Islam was then caught by Yasir Shah off of Sohail's delivery while 16-year-old Naseem Shah ended Mithun's resistance, getting him caught behind.

Before tea, Sohail ended the 54-run stand for the sixth wicket between Liton Das and Mithun as the Pakistan bowlers dominated in the first session.

Shaheen dismissed debutant Saif Hassan in the third ball whereas he removed skipper Mominul Haque after managing to pile on only 30 runs.

Abbas trapped opener Tamim Iqbal with the 10th ball of the match for three to leave Bangladesh tottering at 3-2.

Iqbal, who last Sunday smashed Bangladesh´s highest first-class score with 334 not out in a domestic match, tried to play across but missed the ball.

Umpire Nigel Llong of England had rejected the appeal but Pakistan wisely had it reviewed and the replay showed the ball hitting the stumps.

Haque and Najmul Hossain Shanto had attempted to revive the innings however Haque miscued a drive and was caught behind by wicketkeeper Rizwan off Shaheen.

Haque smashed five crisp boundaries during his confident knock.

Shanto, who hit six boundaries, fell soon after lunch when he edged one from Abbas to Rizwan.

Mahmudullah, who was shaping well with four boundaries, played a rash shot off Shaheen and was caught by a leaping Asad Shafiq.