Can't connect right now! retry
Sunday Feb 23 2020
Web Desk

PSL 2020 Match 6: Karachi Kings face Quetta Gladiators

Web Desk

Another weekend doubleheader will take place on Sunday in the Pakistan Super League with defending champions Quetta Gladiators taking on Karachi Kings at the National Stadium in the first match of the day.

With an epic start to the tournament, the Imad Wasim-led Kings defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs in a seat-edge thriller on Friday, with Zalmi coming close to chasing the 200 plus target.

Read also: Kamran Akmal consolidates his PSL record of hitting most hundreds

On the other hand, Quetta started their PSL campaign with a three-wicket victory against Islamabad United in the opening fixture of the tournament. However, they lost their second game to Peshawar after a blistering 50 ball century by Kamran Akmal led Zalmi to a six-wicket win.

Both the Kings and Gladiators now have two points each. 

Though Gladiators will be on the edge after their hammering on Saturday, the Sarfaraz Ahmed-led team will be looking to get back on track with the likes of Shane Watson, Ben Cutting, Ahmed Shehzad, Jason Roy and Ahsan Ali in the squad.

Hopes will also be with young middle-order batsman Azam Khan, who played a match-winning knock against Islamabad United in the opening match of the tournament.

Read more: Australian journalist sings ‘Dil Dil Pakistan’ during visit to Karachi's Burns Road

Kings will be depending a lot on Babar Azam to provide them a strong platform. With the likes of Alex Hales, Sharjeel Khan and Awais Zia, Mohammad Rizwan in the batting department and Mohammad Amir, Umaid Asif and Chris Jordan in the bowling department, one can expect an epic match between the two sides today.

The match between Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators will begin at 2pm.


Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Iftikhar Ahmed, Aamir Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Mohammad Rizwan, Umaid Asif, Chadwick Walton, Ali Khan, Arshad Iqbal, Mitch McClenaghan, Awais Zia

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Naseem Shah, Jason Roy, Ben Cutting, Fawad Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills, Abdul Nasir, Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan, Keemo Paul, Khurram Manzoor, Zahid Mehmood