Can't connect right now! retry
Thursday Mar 12 2020
Web Desk

PSL 2020: Karachi Kings thrash Lahore Qalandars by 10 wickets

Web Desk

KARACHI: The Karachi Kings thrashed a hapless Lahore Qalandars by 10 wickets during their PSL 2020 clash at the National Stadium in Karachi on Thursday. 

The Qalandars were never on song and Sharjeel and Babar took advantage of that right from the start. 

Sharjeel scored an impressive 74 runs from 59 balls, smashing five 6s and an equal number of 4s. Babar provided support from the other end, scoring 67 from 45 balls, hitting eight 4s and a six during his innings.

Lahore Qalandars innings

The Lahore Qalandars had set a 151-run target for their opponents after the Kings won the toss and opted to field first.

Sohail Akhtar and Fakhar Zaman opened the innings with the former scoring 68 off 49 balls before being dismissed at 14.1 overs off a leg-before-wicket delivery by Arshad Iqbal.

Zaman managed to score 17 off 13 deliveries. He was the first wicket to go at 4.1 overs off Umaid Asif's ball.

Mohammad Hafeez — who was still standing at the end of the innings —  was the only other major contributor, adding 35 runs to the total off 22 deliveries.

The remaining three wickets claimed by the Qalandars were those of Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, and Samit Patel who each added a paltry 5, 9, and 5 runs, respectively, to the scoreboard.

The Kings' Umaid Asif and Arshad Iqbal captured two wickets each while Chris Jordan claimed one.

The squads

Karachi Kings: Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, AD Hales, Umaid Asif, Iftikhar Ahmed, CAK Walton†, Imad Wasim*, Mohammad Amir, CJ Jordan, Usama Mir, Arshad Iqbal

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Sohail Akhtar*, CA Lynn, BR Dunk†, Mohammad Hafeez, SR Patel, D Wiese, Dilbar Hussain, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Faizan Khan