Schedule for West Indies women tour to Pakistan announced

Sports Desk
Players of West Indies and Pakistani womens teams interact during a match. — Windiescricket website/File
Players of West Indies and Pakistani women's teams interact during a match. — Windiescricket website/File

West Indies women's cricket team is set to reach Karachi on April 14 to feature in eight white-ball matches which will be played at National Bank Stadium, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said Wednesday.

The visitors are set to play a three-match ODI series set to commence on April 18, followed by second leg of their tour which includes five T20Is to be played from April 26 to May 3 at the same venue.

This is the West Indies women's team's second tour to Pakistan since 2021 as they previously played three ODIs in Karachi back then.

Meanwhile, the upcoming ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 series will also be the fourth series hosted at home by the PCB as Sri Lanka, Ireland and South African squads visited Pakistan in June 2022, November 2022 and September 2023, respectively.

Welcoming the guests, Tania Mallick, Head of Women’s Cricket, said: "We extend a warm welcome to the West Indies women's team to Pakistan for the upcoming series. Hosting the fourth women's championship series at home within the 2022-25 cycle is a testament to PCB's commitment to promoting women's cricket and providing our players with opportunities to shine on the international stage."

"The forthcoming series against West Indies is not just about cricket; it's about developing relationships and strengthening bonds between cricketing nations," she added

The official further underscored that with the ICC Women's Championship 2022-25 coming to its conclusion for the national side, the stakes are higher than ever for the women’s team to qualify directly for the ICC Women’s ODI World Cup.

"The current position of the Pakistan women’s team reflects our determination and dedication, and we aim to collect maximum points from the three championship matches at home," she said.

"Later this year, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is also taking place. In light of this event and the team’s recent good performances in the shortest format, we have scheduled five T20Is against West Indies. The T20I series will help the selectors finalise the squad for the mega event," Mallick concluded.

Tour schedule:

April 14 — West Indies women’s team arrival in Karachi

April 18 — First ODI at National Bank Stadium (NBS), Karachi (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

April 21 — Second ODI at NBS

April 23 — Third ODI at NBS

April 26 — First T20I at NBS

April 28 — Second T20I at NBS

April 30 — Third T20I at NBS

May 2 — Fourth T20I at NBS

May 3 — Fifth T20I at NBS