Can't connect right now! retry

Wednesday Nov 28 2018
Web Desk

Hockey World Cup kicks off in India today

Web Desk

BHUBANESWAR: The 14th edition of the Hockey World Cup gets under way in Bhubaneswar, India from today.

This year’s mega-event will feature hosts India, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, England, Germany, Ireland, Malaysia, Netherlands, Spain, New Zealand and Pakistan and will continue till December 16.

Group A consists of Argentina, France, Spain and New Zealand whereas Australia, England, Ireland and China are placed in Pool B. Hosts India, Belgium, Canada and South Africa make up Group C. Group D comprises Pakistan, Germany, Netherlands and Malaysia.





The tournament will officially get underway with India playing South Africa and Canada taking on Belgium on the opening day.

Four-time champions Pakistan will begin their World Cup campaign on December 1st against Germany. They have lifted the trophy in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994.



The opening ceremony in Bhubaneswar on November 27 saw Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan recreate his Chak De India moment with his 'sattar minute' speech. He was joined by Madhuri Dixit.

Further, Salman Khan has confirmed he will be participating in the second inaugural ceremony in Cuttack today.

A R Rahman, who has composed the theme song of the World Cup, will perform in today's ceremony in Cuttack after mesmerising the crowd on Tuesday. 




Notification Management

Tv Shows

Subscribe to desktop notification
Powered by IMM