Tuesday Mar 19 2019
Web Desk

Pakistan team to depart for UAE today for Australia ODI series

Web Desk

LAHORE: The Pakistan cricket team will leave for the United Arab Emirates on Tuesday for a five-match one-day international (ODI) series against Australia starting March 22 in Dubai.

Six players from the squad that lost 2-3 to South Africa earlier this year have been rested, including skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed. Shoaib Malik will lead the team in his absence.

Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi have also been rested in view of the upcoming World Cup, while Hussain Talat has been dropped. Mohammad Hafeez was not considered as he is recovering from a thumb surgery.

Rookie fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain, who impressed in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League with his raw pace, is in the squad. Three other uncapped players include Abid Ali, Mohammad Abbas and Saad Ali.


1. Shoaib Malik (captain)

2. Abid Ali

3. Faheem Ashraf

4. Haris Sohail

5. Imad Wasim

6. Imam-ul-Haq

7. Junaid Khan

8. Mohammad Abbas

9. Mohammad Amir

10. Mohammad Hasnain

11. Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper)

12. Saad Ali

13. Shan Masood

14. Umar Akmal

15. Usman Shinwari

16. Yasir Shah


March 22 – 1st ODI, Sharjah (d/n)

March 24 – 2nd ODI, Sharjah (d/n)

March 27 – 3rd ODI, Abu Dhabi (d/n)

March 29 – 4th ODI, Dubai (d/n)

March 31 – 5th ODI, Dubai (d/n)