Friday Oct 08 2021
Web Desk

A list of Nobel Peace Prize-winning journalists

Web Desk
Photo: AFP.
Photo: AFP.

  • Journalists, media organisations are currently being recognised for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize.
  • The prize is awarded to people who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.
  • Multiple journalists have received the award, signifying their contribution to the peace movement.

While journalists and media organisations are currently being recognised through nominations for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize, let’s have a look at the list of journalists who won the top honour in the Nobel Prize’s 120-years of history, published by the Philippine online news website, Rappler.

The Chief Executive Officer of Rappler, Maria Ressa, and Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov have received the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize.

These journalists have been awarded the top honour for defending the freedom of expression — a prerequisite that ensures democracy and lasting peace.

The prize, named after Sir Alfred Nobel, is awarded to ”those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind", according to his will of 1895, per Rappler.

Multiple journalists have received the award in the past, signifying their contribution to the peace movement.

Tawakkol Karman

The Yemeni journalist, activist, and politician, Tawakkol Karman received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2011for her role in the campaign for the coup against Yemeni President Ali Abdullah Saleh.

Karman launched the campaign in 2007 through her articles in the Yemeni newspapers.

The 32-year-old journalist shares the 2007 Nobel Prize with two other laureates for struggling non-violently for women’s safety and rights to full participation in peace-building work”.

Carl von Ossietzky

Ossietzky’s recognition was one of the notable controversies in the history of the Nobel Prize. The German journalist was awarded for his devotion to freedom of “thought and expression” and his efforts for peace.

Germans-in-exile and anti-fascists in democratic countries campaigned to secure the Nobel Peace Prize for Ossietzky.

Upon Ossietzky’s being awarded the top honour, the German press was barred from featuring the achievement while the Germans were told to not accept any Nobel Prize in the future.

Norman Angell

British journalist, author, and economist Norman Angell was awarded the prize for exposing the “illusion of war” and persuading international cooperation and peace through a plea in 1933.

Alfred Hermann Fried

The Austrian journalist, Alfred Hermann Fried, received the top honour in 1911 on the basis of the recognition of his struggle to “expose and fight the anarchy in international relations".

He played his part in the peace movement through his writings in various publications and journals.

Ernesto Teodoro Moneta

The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the Italian journalist Ernesto Teodoro Moneta in 1907 for his contributions to the “press and peace meetings” to create understanding between France and Italy.

Other than his various major journalistic works, two of Moneta’s significant contributions are participation in peace congresses and representing Italy in the Commission of the International Peace Bureau in 1895.

Élie Ducommun

Swiss journalist, Elie Ducommun was recognized for the Nobel Prize in 1902 for his “untiring and [skillful] directorship of the Bern Peace Bureau."

Ducommun advocated peace through his journalistic work and his major contributions to the journalism were editing the political journal "Revue de Genève, Helvétie, the news sheet Les États-Unis d’Europe, the periodical of the Ligue internationale de la paix et de la liberté (International League for Peace and Freedom), and founding the radical journal Der Fortschritt (Progress)”.