T20 World Cup: Amir, Imad, Usman, Mehran among 29 players picked for Kakul camp

Sports Desk
(From left to right) Imad Wasim, Usman Khan and Mohammed Amir. — PCB/AFP/File
(From left to right) Imad Wasim, Usman Khan and Mohammed Amir. — PCB/AFP/File
  • Kakul fitness camp to kick-off from tomorrow.
  • Camp to focus on team building, physical and mental strength.
  • Players to prepare for various upcoming series, T20 World Cup.

After retracting their retirement from international cricket, Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim are set to take part in the physical fitness camp at Kakul where they will be joined by Usman Khan and the other 26 members of the Pakistani squad ahead of the T20 World Cup set to commence in June this year.

A total of 29 players will take part in the fitness camp in Abbottabad — established in collaboration with the Pakistan Army — from March 26 (Tuesday) till April 8, the PCB said.

The camp, where the players are set to report today, "is strategically designed to prepare the players for the upcoming series and tournaments, including the home T20I series against New Zealand, the away T20I series against Ireland and England.

"The camp will focus on team building and aims to enhance the physical and mental strength of the players, ensuring they are in the best condition to face the challenges ahead," the board said in a press release.

During their time in the camp, experienced trainers and coaches will supervise the players' training regime tailored to elevate their fitness levels, agility, leadership strategic thinking and overall performance on the field.

The announcement comes a day after the board announced a reorganised national selection committee comprising seven members.

The selection committee consists of former cricketers Mohammad Yousuf, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Razzaq and Asad Shafiq, head coach, captain and an analyst.

Players part of fitness camp

Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah, Saud Shakeel, Usman Khan, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mehran Mumtaz, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Amir.