Can't connect right now! retry
Sunday Oct 14 2018

By-election on 35 constituencies held in Pakistan


A person giving thumb impression on voter’s list at polling station during by-election in Lahore - APP 

By-election on 35 constituencies of the National and provincial assemblies was held on Sunday with 370 candidates vying for the seats. Polling started at 8AM and concluded at 5PM. For the first time, overseas Pakistanis voted in the election.

Seats up for grabs included 11 from National Assembly, 11 from Punjab Assembly, nine from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two each from Sindh and Balochistan. 

Click here for unofficial results 

ECP receives 24 complaints

The Election Commission of Pakistan said it had received 24 complaints till the time voting ended. 19 complaints were from Punjab and two from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. No complaints were received from Balochistan and Sindh. Three complaints were received from overseas Pakistanis.

According to the ECP there was a complaint from PK-61 about women not being allowed to vote. 

Former PM Nawaz Sharif unable to cast vote

Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif arrived at Government College of Science and Technology polling station but was unable to cast his vote in the NA-124 constituency of Lahore. Sharif was not allowed to cast his vote because he did not have his national identity card. 

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is the PML-N candidate in this constituency and the seat was won by Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in the 2018 general election. 

Nawaz Sharif at a polling station in NA-124 constituency of Lahore - Photo: Geo News screengrab 

Brawl outside NA-131 polling station in Farooqabad 

PML-N, PTI workers clashed outside NA-131 polling station in Farooqabad.

PTI leader complains that police took his party workers in custody 'instead of doing justice.'

"Our workers were thrashed and locked up," says PTI leader.  

Women fail to cast vote in NA-65

Women failed to show up at polling station number 234 in Talagang to cast vote. 

300 women are registered at the NA-65 constituency's polling station number 234.  

Overseas Pakistanis cast vote 

According to reports, 84% of i-voters cast their vote in this by-election. 6,233 votes cast through by overseas Pakistanis, with 5,117 for NA seats and 1,116 votes cast for provincial assemblies.

7,364 overseas voters had registered to vote for 35 constituencies.

PM Imran Khan casts vote in NA-53

Prime Minister Imran Khan cast his vote in NA-53 constituency Islamabad amid strict security arrangements. 

Prime Minister Imran Khan pictured as he casts his vote in NA-53 constituency in Islamabad amid strict security arrangements. Photo: PTI social media 

PTI candidate wins PP-87 Mianwali uncontested

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Ahmed Khan won unopposed from PP-87 Mianwali constituency. 

Mustafa Kamal casts vote in NA-243

Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) chairman Mustafa Kamal cast his vote at a polling station in the NA-243 constituency.  

Pak Sarzameen Party chairman Mustafa Kamal pictured as he enters a polling station in the NA-243 constituency in Karachi. Photo: Geo News screen grab   

PML-N's Saad Rafique casts vote in NA-131

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Saad Rafique, who is contesting the by-elections from the NA-131 constituency, also cast his vote.