PSL 2023: Lahore Qalandars trump Multan Sultans to qualify for playoffs

Qalandars beat Sultans by 21 runs

Sports Desk
Lahore Qalandars celebrate during the 20th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on March 4, 2023. — PSL
Lahore Qalandars celebrate during the 20th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on March 4, 2023. — PSL 

Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans by 21 runs in the 20th fixture of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Gaddafi Stadium — becoming the first team in the tournament to qualify for the playoffs.

While chasing the 181-run target, Sultans got off to a decent start with Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood getting through the powerplay unscathed while also scoring 44 runs in the process.

However, Masood fell in the seventh over of the innings after a brilliant catch by Shaheen Afridi on the bowling of Zaman Khan. The left-hander scored 19 runs in 20 balls.

Sikandar Raza bagged the prized scalp of Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 30 runs in 27 balls, after a successful review. The on-field umpire turned down the LBW appeal but the replay showed three reds.

In a surprising call, Usama Mir was promoted up the order to score some quick runs but the experiment only yielded 17 runs in 11 balls. Mir, who came in to bat at number three, was cleaned up by Rashid Khan. The Afghanistan leg-spinner also dismissed David Miller (1), after another successful review by the Qalandars, in the same over.

Rashid, who finished with figures of 3-15 in four overs, also sent Rilee Rossouw back to the hut.

Kieron Pollard scored 39 runs in 28 balls but that was not enough to get Sultans over the line.

Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf, Sikandar Raza and Hussain Talat claimed one wicket each.

Sultans were restricted to 159-7 in 20 overs.

Earlier, Qalandars had set a target of 181 runs after winning the toss and deciding to bat first against Sultans at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Qalandars finished on 180-9 in their allotted 20 overs.

The batting side suffered a big blow in the first over when in-form opener Fakhar Zaman (0) was caught by the third man while trying to clear the fence.

Meanwhile, Ihsanullah dismissed Mirza Tahir Baig in the fifth over of the innings after a 50-run stand between the latter and Abdullah Shafique. The right-hander scored 17 runs in 11 balls.

After losing Baig, Shafique stitched another healthy partnership with Sam Billings. However, the 69-run stand was broken when Shafique, 48 runs in 35 balls, was caught and bowled by Kieron Pollard.

Billings, who looked set for a big one, was caught in front of the stumps after misjudging a delivery by Pollard. The English batter scored 54 runs in 35 balls with the help of six fours and two sixes.

Sikandar Raza scored 14 runs, meanwhile, David Wiese remained unbeaten at 15 runs.

For Sultans, Pollard, Ihsanullah, Abbas Afridi and Anwar Ali claimed two wickets each.

Playing XIs

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan(w/c), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sameen Gul, Ihsanullah

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Mirza Tahir Baig, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings(w), Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi(c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan