Can't connect right now! retry

Friday Jul 12 2019
Web Desk

Govt, coalition parties submit no-confidence motion against Senate Dep Chair

Web Desk

ISLAMABAD: The government of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and its coalition parties on Friday submitted a motion of no-confidence against deputy chairperson of the Senate, Saleem Mandviwalla, sources said.

The move comes two days after the Opposition parties submitted in the Senate Secretariat the no-confidence resolution against Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani.

Leader of the House in the Senate, Shibli Faraz, Balochistan Awami Party, and senators from the erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) decided to remove Mandviwalla after consulting among themselves.

Speaking to the media, Senator Faraz said the motion of no-confidence was submitted to the Senate alongside signatures of at least 26 others in favour. While, in electing the Senate's deputy chairperson, there were 36 folks representing the government and its coalition parties, Mandviwalla did not deserve their support, he added.

Earlier, the Opposition's 11-member, anti-government Rahbar Committee representing nine political parties had announced its consensus to remove the Senate Chairperson Sadiq Sanjrani.

The Rahbar Committee, thereafter, agreed that their unanimous candidate was to be Hasil Bizenjo. Shehbaz Sharif, the Opposition leader and president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), had extended the felicitation to Bizenjo.

Prime Minister Imran Khan had reportedly suggested to Sanjrani to stand firm in order to make the no-confidence motion unsuccessful.

Notification Management

Tv Shows

Subscribe to desktop notification
Powered by IMM