Can't connect right now! retry
Tuesday Feb 18 2020
Web Desk

Captains gear up for Women’s T20 World Cup at media day

Web Desk
The captains of the 10 countries participating in the Women's T20 World Cup pose for a photo with the trophy in Sydney on Monday. The tournament begins Friday. Picture shows (left to right): Sornnarin Tippoch of Thailand, Stafanie Taylor of West Indies, Harmanpreet Kaur of India, Sophie Devine, of New Zealand, Meg Lanning of Australia, Heather Knight of England, Salma Khatun of Bangladesh. Chamari Atapattu of Sri Lanka, Bismah Maroof of Pakistan and Dane van Niekerk of South Africa. Photo:ICC

SYDNEY: The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 is officially up and running as all the 10 skippers gathered for the captain’s media launch on Monday at the Taronga Zoo in Sydney.

The seventh edition is set to be the most closely-fought yet, and the prize at the end could not have been greater.

A world record attendance for a women’s sport fixture could be set when the final is held on 8 March in Melbourne – International Women’s Day – with those at the helm desperate to take their country to the MCG.

Photo: ICC

The tournament will feature 10 teams. The eight top-ranked teams based on finishing positions from the 2018 T20 World Cup qualified automatically.

The remaining two qualification spots were determined through the 2019 T20 Qualifier, with Bangladesh and Thailand progressing.

It was the first time that Thailand had qualified for a T20 World Cup.

All ten teams have been divided into two groups:

Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan, Thailand

In all, 23 matches, including two semi-finals and a final, will be played at six venues in four cities of Australia. They are: Manuka Oval (Canberra), Junction Oval and Melbourne Cricket Ground (Melbourne), WACA Ground (Perth), and Sydney Showground Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground (Sydney).