MQM-P finalises candidates from Karachi after Rabita Committee meeting

June 28, 2018

Your browser doesnt support HTML5 video.

KARACHI: The Bahadurabad faction of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) has finalised its list of candidates who will be contesting in the upcoming general elections of 2018, the political party's Rabita Committee said Wednesday after a meeting of its members.

Sources informed Geo News thatAli Raza Abidi will be facing off Imran Khan in the NA-243 constituency,Mahfooz Yaar Khan will be againstBilawal Bhutto Zardari in NA-246, and Usama Qadri will compete withMustafa Kamal in NA-253.

On the other hand, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui will be contesting the general elections from the NA-255 constituency while DrFarooq Sattar will do so from NA-247 and NA-245.

Sattar excuses himself from contesting elections

MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar says he does not want to contest in the General Election 2018/ Geo News screen grab

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan leader Farooq Sattar said that he does not aspire to contest the elections. “I have asked the Bahadurabad faction to decide upon the matter,” said Sattar.

The MQM-P leader was addressing a press conference, hours after the party’s Bahadurabad faction finalised a list of candidates who will be contesting in the upcoming general elections of 2018.

Sattar said that the decision regarding his application should be decided upon until evening.

Your browser doesnt support HTML5 video.

The MQM-P senior leader said that he has given his list of candidates to party convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui.

"There should be no quota for Bahadurabad and PIB factions," he said.

He said he went to Bahadurabad and received a warm welcome. Sattar further said that the MQM-Pakistan is a single party and has ‘kite’ as its election symbol.

Read Complete Story