PSL 2023: Islamabad United trounce Peshawar Zalmi

Shadab Khan-led side beats Peshawar Zalmi by six wickets

Sports Desk
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (left) and Colin Munro bump fists during a PSL match against Peshawar Zalmi in Karachi, on February 23, 2023. — PSL
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (left) and Colin Munro bump fists during a PSL match against Peshawar Zalmi in Karachi, on February 23, 2023. — PSL

Islamabad United Thursday night defeated Peshawar Zalmi by six wickets in the 12th match of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the National Bank Cricket Arena in Karachi.

Afghanistan's opening batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz was on song in the run-chase for United as they beat Zalmi in today's contest.

Rahmanullah was unstoppable in the powerplay as United were already leading the run-chase with 80-1 on the scoreboard.

The right-handed batter smashed 62 off just 31 balls to put United in the driving seat to win their second match out of three. His powerful knock included seven boundaries and four maximums.

Despite losing opening partner Colin Munro in the third over, Gurbaz kept his firepower on. Munro managed to score just nine runs when Arshad cleaned him up.

Arshad took revenge on Munro after he clean-bowled the New Zealand batter in the third over.

Munro struck him for a huge maximum on the previous ball. Arshad made a solid comeback to clean him up on the middle stump.

Rassie van der Dussen contributed 42 runs whereas Asif Ali scored a quick 29 laced with a boundary and three sixes to complete the chase for the two-time champions.

For Zalmi, Arshad, Jimmy Neesham and Usman Qadir shared a wicket apiece.

Earlier, United dominated the show with the ball as their senior pacer Hassan Ali boosted confidence by picking up some quick wickets in the middle.

Zalmi's skipper Babar Azam fought really hard amid wickets falling at the other end. Peshawar managed to score 156-8 in 20 overs despite a quick start in the beginning.

Hassan struck thrice to put United in a commanding position after openers Babar and Mohammad Haris helped Peshawar make a strong start.

The two batters put up a blistering 72-run partnership off 42 balls for the first wicket.

However, United's skipper Shadab Khan struck to break the opening partnership and sent Haris back to the pavilion after scoring 40 runs in 21 balls.

Saim Ayub was the second batter to depart as Islamabad's emerging player Mubasir Khan delivered a sensational delivery to bowl him out. The left-handed batter departed after scoring only three runs.

The best of United was yet to come as pacer Hasan Ali, who is playing his first match of PSL 8, struck twice in his second over to put the two-time champions in a commanding position. He sent Tom Kohler-Cadmore (1) and Rovman Powell (0) back to the pavilion.

Just when Babar looked to form a partnership with Jimmy Neesham, the right-arm pacer struck again, dismissing the New Zealander with a short delivery.

Thereafter, United kept on taking wickets after regular intervals but Babar stood firm. He remained unbeaten for 75 runs including seven boundaries and a maximum.

For United, Hassan bagged three wickets while Faheem Ashraf, Rumman Raees, Shadab and Mubasir shared a wicket apiece. 

Playing XI

Peshawar Zalmi: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Haris (wk), Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Rovman Powell, Dasun Shanaka, James Neesham, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Arshad Iqbal, Sufyan Muqeem

Islamabad United: Colin Munro, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rassie van der Dussen, Shadab Khan (capt), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Mubasir Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Tom Curran, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees