Wednesday, March 09, 2022
By |
Web Desk

Aleem Khan leaves for London to meet Jahangir Tareen, PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif: sources

Sources say Aleem Khan will discuss future course of action for their group with Jahangir Tareen

By |
Web Desk

  • Sources say Aleem Khan will discuss future course of action for their group with Jahangir Tareen.
  • Sources say in case Punjab CM Usman Bazdar resigns, PML-N and Aleem Khan group may field joint candidate.
  • Some members of Jahangir Tareen group oppose Aleem Khan’s nomination as CM, sources say.

Estranged PTI leader Aleem Khan left for London on Wednesday to meet PTI leader Jahangir Tareen and PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif, sources told Geo News.

Sources privy to the development said Aleem will discuss the future course of action with Tareen for the group as the Opposition has submitted the no-confidence motion.

Sources said that in case Punjab Chief Minister Usman Bazdar decides to resign, the PML-N and the Aleem Khan group of the PTI may field a joint candidate.

Sources further said that the Tareen-Aleem group of the PTI may not merge with any party, for now, adding that the two leaders may become part of a larger political alliance in the next general elections.

Tareen group divided over Aleem Khan’s nomination as CM

On the other hand, separate sources told Geo News that some members of the Jahangir Tareen group have opposed Aleem Khan’s nomination.

Sources said that some members of the splinter group have conveyed their reservations to Jahangir Tareen, adding that the members reminded the estranged PTI leader of the times they stood with him.

On Monday, Former senior Punjab minister Aleem Khan had joined Jahangir Khan Tareen's PTI faction with the aim to "save" the party after "loyalists were sidelined" following Prime Minister Imran Khan's rise to power.

A day later, the Opposition submitted the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan in the National Assembly Secretariat.

A total of 86 lawmakers from the Opposition parties have signed the no-confidence motion, sources said. JUI-F's Shahida Akhtar Ali, PML-N's Khawaja Saad Rafique, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Sanaullah, Khawaja Saad Rafique and PPP's Naveed Qamar and Shazia Marri submitted the no-trust motion and requisition for a session to the NA Secretariat.