President Zardari forms National Economic Council, names PM Shehbaz its chairman

First meeting of NEC to be convened on June 10 with PM Shehbaz Sharif in the chair

By |
Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif calls on President Asif Ali Zardari. — X/MediaCellPPP

  • President names PM Shehbaz Sharif as council's chairman
  • Deputy PM and FM Ishaq Dar among federal ministers part of NEC
  • CMs' nominated individuals also join list of council members.

President Asif Ali Zardari has constituted the National Economic Council under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, a notification issued by the Cabinet Division said on Friday.

"In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 156 of the Constitution of Pakistan, the president of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is pleased to constitute the National Economic Council […],” the notification read.

As per the document, the chief ministers of all four provinces, Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan will be part of the newly formed body.

Moreover, Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar, federal ministers Khawaja Asif, Muhammad Aurangzeb and Ahsan Iqbal are also members of the NEC.

The notification stated that Planning Commission's deputy chairman, finance secretary, secretary on economic affairs and federal minister Ahad Cheema could also attend the meetings of the council on special invitation.

Meanwhile, four members of the National Economic Council have been nominated by the respective chief ministers under paragraph (b) of clause (1) of Article 156 of the Constitution.

These members include Senior Minister for Planning and Development Marriyum Aurangzeb, Minister for Irrigation, Government of Sindh Jam Khan Shoro, Adviser to KP Chief Minister on Finance Muzammil Aslam and Balochistan Minister for Planning and Development Zahoor Ahmed Buledi.

The first meeting of the National economic Council has been summoned on June 10.